+ Reply to Thread
    Junior Member Errkola is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Police Positive - 38 Special questions

OK, this friend of mine has this PP in 38 special. it was given new (manufacture date is 1917 or '18) to a criminal judge back in the '20s and used very little since then. Other than the grip straps the finish on this gun is 98%+. As I understand it there is a Police Positive Special as well, chambered in 38 special. Apparently the cylinder on the Police Positive is not long enough to fit a 38 special, at least that was what I was told, but I am not sure how to explain this pistol. Please someone give me the straight skinny on this pistol as I am tired of debating it.

Also, what is the approx. value of this pistol at current market?
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Errkola; 11-11-2008 at 10:08 PM.

Member Oldnoob is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm new in revolver world so I might be wrong, but I think police positive service has different caliber 38s&w, 38sp, 32s&w.
    Taiwan born, Chinese descent, red white and freaking blue America citizen. :rock:
    Gun Control - A theory espoused by some monumentally stupid people; who claim to believe, against all logic and common sense, that a violent predator who ignores the laws prohibiting them from robbing, raping, kidnapping, torturing and killing their fellow human beings will obey a law telling them that they cannot own a gun.

Member #
    Liked
    0 times
    yes from what I researched on the web it does come in other calibers.

Member mulehide9 is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Colt PP question

yes, their was also a Colt PP Special. It was made from 1907 to 1973.

The other PP's were chambered for the Colt 38 NP, and 38 S&W.

It should state what cal. it is on the gun. If it is not a 38 special, a bullet will not chamber in the gun.