Colt Forum banner

Detective Special and Plus P Loads

2K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  mj2008 
#1 ·
First off, late me state that I have no intention of firing Plus P loads. This is simply a matter of curiosity. I have a 2nd issue (more about that in another post) and I'm wondering, since Colt rated the DS for 38-44, wouldn't it also be capable of firing Plus P?

#2 ·
I'm no expert, but I've been around a few years, and I seem to remember that Colt recommended returning the revolver for inspection after a certain number of hi-pressure rounds. I can't remember what the number was, possibly 1000 or maybe 3000. Some will tell you the modern +P loads are less powerful than the older ones. I'm sure at some point a comparison was made between modern ammunition and the old .38-44 loads so perhaps an internet search might prove fruitful. Good luck with your search.

#3 ·
This issue of +P ammo in DS revolvers has been discussed before and I recall that Colt did say that the DS could handle these rounds on an infrequent basis, but routine usage would result in damage to the revolver. I guess the problem would be worse for the older Cobras and Agents. I would not want to shoot +P ammo in either of those.
Let's see what some of our forum experts say about this subject. Your question is a good one to have brought up from time to time.

#5 ·
From what I've read, Colt doesn't recommend the use of +P ammunition simply because they were never tested with such ammunition as it wasn't marketed at that time. The post-1972 framed D-frames were and were cleared for such use with inspections after 3000 rounds and after 1000 rounds in aluminum frame Cobras, Agents and Vipers.

There's little point to fire anything but standard pressure .38 Specials from a 2" barrel gun...not all the powder will burn making for velocity loss, a bright muzzle flash and excessive recoil.

#6 ·