+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Senior Member charlene is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    183 times

"Colt" 2nd Gen. blackpowder??? ...mystery gun...

I recently picked up a couple of cap and ball pistols. One is a 2nd generation Colt Second Model Dragoon from the "Authentic Colt Blackpowder Series" model F1720, I think. It is in its original box, unfired. It has the Saml Colt New York City barrel address.

The other one is a mystery. It appears to be a "Colt" Third Model Dragoon. However, the barrel is marked "COLT'S PT FA MFG CO HARTFORD, CONN USA" in a manner similar to other production Colt revolvers from the 1960s, 70s, 80s, etc. I am not aware of any 2nd or 3rd gen blackpowder guns that were marked in this way, but I am new to these, so who knows. I did read the "condensed" version of Dennis Adler's book on these that someone posted a link to in another thread.

The finish on the mystery gun seems even better than the finish on the second model dragoon. The polish seems a bit higher. The blue looks like a Colt factory blue to me. The case colors also look good, with a little more blue in them than on the second model dragoon, and it appears as if a type of clearcoat finish was applied over the color case hardened parts. The serial number was three digits, 8XX, not within the ranges of any production 2nd or 3rd gen Colt reproductions listed by Adler. I bought both pistols from the same gentleman. He had a number of other 2nd gen Colt blackpowder pistols for sale as well. He did not know what the deal was with the mystery pistol. He said he had had it for about 10 years or so and that he had acquired it from someone in Massachusetts. He thought it might have been a so-called "lunchbox special" put together by a Colt employee, but he did not know.