+ Reply to Thread
    Junior Member rmruder is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

New Frontier 22LR and WMR Cylinders

I'm new to 22 revolvers in general and have a few questions. I just bought a New Frontier 22 L series but it only has the 22 Mag cylinder. Can you get a 22LR cylinder by itself and will it fit without any custom work? I'm having no luck so far finding one.....I'm also looking for a 22 Peacemaker and was wondering if I find one with both cylinders could I use the 22LR from the Peacemaker in the New Frontier I already have?

For ammo, can you use the Winchester WRF in the 22 Mag cylinder as an alternative to WMR ammo as a less expensive option without any issues? I didn't realize that the 22 Mag ammo was so much more expensive than 22LR and would like to do some shooting with this new revolver without breaking the bank! I can reload my .40s, .44s, .45s and .357s for the price of the 22 Mag ammo......

Supporting Member Colt75 is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    336 times
    Welcome to the forum.

I think the cylinders require a bit of fitting. Not absolutely sure how much though.

Yes you can use WRF in the Magnum cylinder. I've done it. WRF ammo is not cheap either though. I think CCI warns that their WRF ammo is for use in rifles only. Something to keep in mind.

Senior Member Buckspen is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    353 times

Peacemaker and New Frontier 22 Cylinders

The cylinders on the PM 22 and NF 22 Colt revolvers are generally interchangable. However, minor fitting may be required in some cases. I have a shooter grade PM 22 that came to me as a single cylinder gun. When I tried to use a .22 Magnum cylinder in it, I had to take a few thousandsth off the front of the cylinder bushing in order to get it to fit.
    In another case I had to bore out the cylinder pin hole slightly for the pin to fit.