+ Reply to Thread
    Junior Member JoshuaM. is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Frontier Scout DuoTone

Hello, newbie here. Yesterday I came across a really good shape Scout, that came in a nice looking pine Colt box. I'm pretty sure the box isn't original, but it is cut perfectly for the pistol, and it looks pretty old. SN# is 258#Q. I was wandering if I could find a .22Mag cylinder for it, and be all right to shoot? And I've never seen a Duotone before, are these rare? Thanks in advance... I'll try to attach a picture...
    Attached Images

Supporting Member wdkline is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    63 times
    The "Q" serial numbered duo-tone Frontier Scouts were produced in 1957-58. Alloy frame and grip frame left in the white. Chambered for 22LR only. Barrel is bored for 22LR, not 22 mag. Even though you can probably get a 22 mag cylinder to fit, don't shoot 22 mag. Some say you can get away with it, but why risk wrecking a very nice six gun, or parts of your anatomy?

"Q" series Frontier Scouts were normally shipped in a brown wood-grain cardboard box with a green interior. The presentation box that you have is likely not original to the gun.

The duo-tone Frontier Scout included an "F" serial number version from 1958-1961. Total of both types was just under 40,000 made.

The reference for Colt Fronter Scouts is "Scouts, Peacemakers and New Frontiers in .22 Caliber" by Don Wilkerson.

Enjoy your Colt.

Bill

Senior Member Buckspen is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    353 times
    Go to a local hardware or paint store and get a Minwax Wood Finish Stain Marker in Cherry (#235) and one in Red Mahogany (#225). Depending on the exact color of your case, these will help repair the scratches in your presentation case. If some of the scratches are pretty deep, get Minwax Blend Pencils in the same colors. I've used these products to repair many of these Frontier Scout presentation cases.