Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Swenson 1911

Member #
    Liked
    226 times

Swenson 1911

http://www.gunbroker.com/item/636964749

I have been pining a bit for an older custom 1911, and this one comes up to tease me. Condition is pretty rough - handling/carry wear I could live with, but this is a little excessive. Forwarded the images to a good smith who told me he could touch up and refinish, but it would not get rid of the deeper marks.

The only thing that haunts me is if you disregard the condition, you still have an Armond Swenson tuned gun that shoots extremely well for potentially a lot less than a full house gun from a modern well regarded smith.

Cannot find a lot of recent examples to determine value in present condition. Is it crazy to still be attracted to this piece, or am I just suffering from notseeingenoughofthemitis? I imagine he did not crank out these pieces over his years, so I'll go with a little of both.

Any other collectors of Swenson or his contemporaries have images of their pieces they would like to share, I would love to see them. Maybe seeing more of them will calm me down : ).

I have to add, as enamored as I am with his work, on this piece the bobbed hammer looks a little funny, and the frame to slide fit also appears a bit sloppy. Reason I would love to see more examples to get to know his work better.
    Last edited by JeffPro; 04-20-2017 at 06:42 PM. Reason: added content
    ei8ht and ponyup like this.

Member #
    Liked
    444 times
    You might contact Jason Burton at Heirloom Precision. Custom builder extraordinaire. He is somewhat of an expert on Armand Swenson. He also restores them.

Member #
    Liked
    125 times
    Looks pretty good. I read Armand often put initials of the owner on the gun. Might want to get some more pictures, and also of the insides. He often did this thing with placing a block in the slide to tighten up the rails, too.

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com