+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 70 vs 80 Series

Junior Member stevegartx is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

70 vs 80 Series

Can any one tell me what the difference between 70 and a 80 Series model . I'm sorry ,I'm new to Colt pistols . I looking to buy my 1st one . Thanks

Senior Member gunpoor is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    80 times
    The main difference was the series 80 has a firing pin disconnect/block safety system built into the firing system so the weapon will not fire unless the trigger is pulled (cannot shoot yourself if you drop a loaded series 80). The series 70 did not have a firing pin disconnect/block safety system.
    Colt Revolvers: Elegant Weapons For A More Civilized Age

Senior Member flusher is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    The Series 70 also started out with a Collet Bushing, which was later eliminated
    Here's one from 1951

Last edited by flusher; 02-03-2010 at 05:59 PM.

Senior Member randyhamrick is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    There is an argument "out there" that because of the extra parts involved in the Series 80 models the trigger feels heavier/mushier than a Series 70 trigger. I own both and have found that each works just fine for me.
    Stay safe,
    Randy

Senior Member haggis is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    278 times
    The Series 80 FP safety does not have to interfere with trigger pull (although some do). I've not done it with a Colt, but I've worked over the FP safety on a Para P-13, and with a bit of judicious polishing and making sure the levers fully engage, you can't tell that it's in there.