+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Junior Member Leland Gaunt is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Kitchen table trigger job on Pony Pocketlite

The trigger on my pony was terrible! Twenty+ pound of pull and I could feel the hammer spring dragging on something when I moved the hammer back and forth with my fingers.

The trigger job was a snap. Let me add that I've been an aircraft mechanic most of my life so I have a head start on most people.

The problem found was interesting and I wonder if other pony owners with hard trigger pulls have the same problem. The problem was that the hammer spring was galling against the back of the sear spring.

Let me talk you through breakdown.

1. Remove slide, grips and the draw bar spring.

2. Using a block of wood (or any soft but firm material) with a hole drilled in it tap out the hammer pin with a punch. It is held in place by spring pressure so be prepared to the hammer and strut self eject when the punch is removed. Reach in with a small tool and remove the hammer spring. I removed the pin from right to left but the pin measured straight as did the hole it rides in. I dropped the pin back in from the right. Seems ambi.

3. Next tap out the sear pin FROM RIGHT TO LEFT. The pin has an enlarged tapered head on the left side. The sear and ejector are under pressure from the sear spring but not bad. You won't be launching parts when you remove the punch. Remove the loose parts.

4. Lean the top of the sear spring forward and lift out of there recess in the bottom of the frame. I didn't remove the trigger because it moved freely.

Here's what the sear spring looked like when removed.

as removed shear spring.jpg

Notice the scratching by the spring I'm sure the spring was also catching on the jig hole on the bottom of the spring

chamfered hole.jpg

Here I've chamfered the hole and you can see the galling better.

polished.jpg