Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Fitzed Government Model

Supporting Member Mike Faires is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    630 times

Fitzed Government Model

Are there any documented Fitz Special Government Models. I know Lone Wolf Gonzaullas had a couple in that style but don't know if they were factory or aftermarket. I have checked my Clawson, Goddard and Poyer books with no luck.

Senior Member ssgunnip is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    746 times
    I have several of the DA Colts in the book Colt and Its Collectors. I believe there are a few of the guns you are asking about in the book.

Supporting Member Malysh is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    1068 times
    Mike, I'm not an expert on Govt Models and Fitz Specials. From what I remember reading here from our experts there aren't any known examples of factory Fitz Government models.

Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    630 times
    Thanks Malysh. I got this responce on the 1911 Forum so I will be pursuing the book mentioned.
    In the book American Beauty: The Prewar Colt National Match Government Model Pistols by Timothy J. Mullin he reports two documented Fitz pistols and shows a photograph of one that was shipped to Sheriff J.E. Decker in Dallas, TX in 1940. A factory letter supports the trigger guard modification. Posted by oldcop.

Quote Originally Posted by Malysh View Post
    Mike, I'm not an expert on Govt Models and Fitz Specials. From what I remember reading here from our experts there aren't any known examples of factory Fitz Government models.

Supporting Member Malysh is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    1068 times
    Mike, maybe I don't remember the posts I was thinking of correctly! I was pretty sure that's what a few guys said.
    It's a lesson for me to keep my mouth shut unless the question is about one of the few Colt models I'm very familiar with.