+ Reply to Thread
    Senior Member twaits will become famous soon enough

Member #
    Liked
    1408 times

Installing a silver coin as a front sight

I just had a machinist friend mill out a slot and insert an old silver coin in a cut down Walker barrel. I have never done any soldering before. What is the best way to go about silver soldering this in so it doesn't come out.
    He said he had to pound it in the slot so it's real tight but I'd like to make sure it never comes out. Do I just torch heat the area and let the solder run into the crack? How hot to I need to get it? I don't want to melt the coin

Supporting Member cochise is on a distinguished road
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    27 times
    Silver solder is the way to go. It must be very clean, no immaculate clean before soldering. No oil or solvents can be present. You will need flux, with the silver solder. I use brazing tips with my combination torch with a soft blue flame. Heating is difficult to determine and approach carefully. Just enough to melt the solder. Then cleaning the area with borax to remove excess flux, scraping with a brass "chisel".

You need to practice. You can google "silver soldering" and get a more detailed explanation than my short dissertation. :-)

The bottom line, it is not hard to do but it is a skill developed by doing many, many times, not one try. I suggest taking it to an experienced person, perhaps even a jeweler.
    Jim
    NRA Pistol Inst
    "The only reason a warrior is alive is to fight and the only reason a warrior fights is to win. -- Musashi

Senior Member fitz2 is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    337 times