Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Favorite load for .45 ACP?

Senior Member USMC Snakedriver is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    13 times

Favorite load for .45 ACP?

On a Dillon 650XL, I just reloaded 1000 rounds of Delta Precision 230 gr. FMJ's over 8.5 gr. Accurate No.5 in mixed brass with CCI 300 LP primers. These rounds approach 900 fps and group at about 2.5 inches at 40 ft, holding two handed, non-supported,from several of my 5 inch 1911's. Comments or suggestions? What is your favorite 230 gr. FMJ load?

Banned WIL TERRY is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    363 times
    YOURS is an interesting post. I have been loading the 45ACP for over 45 years with all the traditional propellents, Bullseye, Unique [ Hodgdon's UNIVERSAL now] etc. Back then AA and all their products were not even a gleam in a chemical engineers eye.
    Since then I have used ALL the AA propellents in various calibers [ I load for a 135 of 'em at last count ] and have several favorite loads with AA5, AA7, AA9, XMP5744 etc. AA5 in particular has been outstanding in 38SPL+P-158gr SWC loads and the top load shoots very well in ALL my 38SPL and 357MAG sixguns, a most pleasing situation indeed !! AS a matter of fact I was looking for one 38+P load that shot well in all my guns when I found it in AA5, no other propellent in that search was even close.
    I've never given a thought to trying AA5 in the 45ACP [ 45AR too...maybe ??] and it does look to be darned interesting. The other side of this coin is now almost ALL of my 45ACP shooting is with a COLT SAA 45ACP sixgun which puts all the fired brass in my waiting hand...imagine that ?!!!

Junior Member ChuckS1 is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    I like 7. 8 grains of Accurate No. 5 with my 230 grain LRN bullets. I'm using H&G 34 bullets that I cast myself from wheelweight alloy.

Senior Member kenhwind is on a distinguished road

Member #
    Liked
    450 times