• 2 Post By AR15_1911
  • 1 Post By WVCOLT

Thread: How to find out more about my rifle

Member #
    Liked
    4 times

How to find out more about my rifle

Hello,
    I recently brought used AR15 M4. how do i find out more info, date or spec about it. On the serial # it start with LE25xxx. I tried to reach out to Colt and no luck thru they website or FB. I looked up at they system on serial number look up and no luck either.
    WVCOLT likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    685 times
    Hello, welcome to the Colt Forum!

I'm no expert but I had kept personal notes on the Colt model LE6920 Colt's Law Enforcement Carbine/ M4 Carbine since the beginning 1998 up to the current production which was 2019, but they won't be no longer available to the civilian market this year.

Yours according to my notes is made in around 2005, the last serial number in my note from 2005 was number LE0255XX and the earliest that same year was LE18XXX.

Here are the usual features and markings of that year 2005:

Markings on top of barrel between the flash hider and front sight base: C MP 5.56 NATO 1/7

Marking under the handguard on top of barrel behind the front handguard cap and below the gas tube: date two digit month (01 - 12), slash (/) and 05 year (you have to remove the top handguard)

Upper right rear marking of detachable carry handle: Forge symbol markings Cardinal (bird head symbol), Cerro (keyhole & number 10 symbol), Anchor Harvey (splintered horizontal letter A), etc.

Front of upper receiver above the gas tube hole have M4 or 4 marking.

Upper receiver picatinny rail have letter T and numbers.

Upper receiver behind the shell deflector, right rear: Letter C and forge symbol codes keyhole, splintered A, stylized letter D (Diemaco), etc.

Lower receiver left side mag well: Colt's Law Enforcement Carbine CAL. 5.56MM

Lower receiver left side above selector-safety lever: Colt Defense

Lower receiver right side mag well: LE restricted markings