Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Re-blued 1849 Pocket?

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    57 times

Re-blued 1849 Pocket?

I am trying to determine if my firearm here has the original bluing to it. The description at auction states that the bluing has faded to this grey color. I am not sure about this. This is a one line address late model 1849 Pocket. The serial number is 303311.

What do all of you think?

PS I have heard that some owners have their pistol preserved through an addition of a solution that can alter how the pistol looks, but can be taken off. Probably a bunch of BS. LOL
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by r010159; 05-06-2019 at 03:42 PM.
    jcmh1 likes this.
    I am a novice collector of Colt firearms. Recently, I have been focusing on antique firearms. Here is a link to some of my "gems":
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member #
    Liked
    1261 times
    I'm sure the experts will be here soon.
    I'm betting the grips have definitely been refinished or are new to the gun.
    The right side of the frame and the screws look odd to me.
    "Cowards never lasted long enough to become real
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    ." --

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    57 times
    Unfortunately I think you are right regarding the grips. I think someone wanted to make it look “pretty” without understanding what they were doing to the value of the pistol. Now it may be considered only as a coffee table conversation piece, with a value of what, maybe $100? Maybe I can have it turned into a cigar lighter? LOL
    Last edited by r010159; 05-06-2019 at 04:34 PM.
    I am a novice collector of Colt firearms. Recently, I have been focusing on antique firearms. Here is a link to some of my "gems":

4. Remove Advertisements