Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Rust beginning on a pistol

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    57 times

Rust beginning on a pistol

I should of used renaissance wax to preserve the finish. Now I see the beginnings of rust on my pistol. How can I take off this very light, spotty layer of rust? I am thinking of rubbing it off with a bit of FrogLube. There must be a better way.

Update:

Rubbing with FrogLube did not work, so I am trying CLP. I may need to use a very fine (finishing) steel wool.
    Last edited by r010159; 06-06-2019 at 11:32 PM.
    I am a novice collector of Colt firearms. Recently, I have been focusing on antique firearms. Here is a link to some of my "gems":
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Not sure where on the firearm or what on the firearm is rusting, or even if its on blued, parkerized, nickle finish,... But I have had pretty good luck using a piece of hardwood cut straight at a sharp ninety degree angle, then douse the area with a light oil. and hold the wood at about a forty five degree angle, then rubbing towards the rust,changing to a fresh piece of wood very often as the rust is abrasive, and the pieces of rust now stuck in the wood will gouge the surface. Sorry if that description was a bit confusing, tried to make it as clear as possible. I've only used this on blued firearms by the way.
    colkid likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Again, not sure of firearm, or base finish it has, but I know some people have used a very fine steel wool with light pressure and plenty of oil on blued finishes as well.

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com
    Advertisements

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    57 times