Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Peacemaker .22 WMR cylinder

Member #
    Liked
    3 times

Peacemaker .22 WMR cylinder

Gentlemen & Ladies,
    I am somewhat new to this form and this is my first post. I have a .22 Peacemaker (S/N G10xxx), barrel marked "Peacemaker .22". My readings suggest that strength shouldn't be an issue with this pun. I have recently acquired a like-new .22 WMR cylinder and, no surprises here, it's not a drop in. The cylinder can be installed and rotates until you try and install the cylinder pin, which can't be seated. My local gunsmith (Gander Mountain) refused to touch it, saying that he hadn't the ability to re-cut the rear bushing, if necessary. Can anyone suggest a gunsmith in SE Wisconsin who is capable of this? I've thought of swapping it for a regular combo but I'm kind attached to the little piece. Thoughts?
    Thanks for your input.

Member #
    Liked
    4603 times
    Are you sure its a Colt cylinder? The parts were pretty much interchangeable, but not always.

Welcome to the forum.
    Ken
    "I like Colts and will die that way"

Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    255 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kenhwind View Post
    Are you sure its a Colt cylinder? The parts were pretty much interchangeable, but not always.

Welcome to the forum.
    I have a Colt .22 magnum fluted cylinder and it won't drop in to either of my Peacemakers. Haven't taken it to a gunsmith yet.

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    How can I tell if it's Colt or not? My trusty Starrett dial calipers show the same dimensions within .001-.002.

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    17452 times
    I've tried cylinders that came from Numrich and they wouldn't work due to their manufacturing. I could see the problem with some of the teeth in the rear side (ratchet side) of the cylinder.