Colt Police Positive Special with Dectecitve Special Barrel?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Colt Police Positive Special with Dectecitve Special Barrel?

Member #
    Liked
    53 times

Colt Police Positive Special with Dectecitve Special Barrel?

Hi there: I just bought a pistol that was sold as a Detective Special. I checked the serial number out (178XXX) and it listed 2 possibilities: 1) "1919 Police Positive Special"; or, 2) "1928 Police Positive .38 Caliber (not .38 Special 1-1/4" Cylinder Length)." The gun appears to have been reblued at some point. I don't believe the Seller was aware of all this and I don't believe I was taken ($400 out the door), so I'm not upset. I'd just like to know if you have any ideas what I've actually got here and who might have put it together. I'm rather new at this and I don't know much about either pistol (Police Positive or Detective Special). BTW, the barrel text reads ".38 Detective Special." Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

.DS.2.jpgDS.1.jpgDS.4.jpgDS.5.jpg
    Last edited by mk45; 01-23-2020 at 12:21 PM.
    824tsv and krag96 like this.

Member #
    Liked
    839 times
    It's hard to positively tell from photos taken at angles, but it looks like a Police Positive (the 1928 one) with a Detective Special barrel. A good straight side view would help in verifying what it ts.
    Last edited by up196; 01-23-2020 at 06:15 PM.
    Absalom likes this.

Capable of using typewriter if necessary. - "Jerry" Campbell, 1934

I don't have the time for multi-tasking, I'm too busy doing a bunch of other things.

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    936 times
    I believe some of the first DS actually letter as PPS. They are highly sought after, this may be one. I never collected D frames so I don’t know for sure. Cam or Russ will be along soon to tell you exactly what you have.
    krag96 likes this.