Colt Woodsman Parts

Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Colt Woodsman Parts

I recently bought a Woodsman Match Target Series 3 with a 4.5 inch barrel. The gun is in great condition and I intend to shoot it. My question is: are there any parts on this gun that are likely to need replacement? If so, I would like to be on he look out for them before they are needed.

Thanks,
    Yakman

Member #
    Liked
    259 times
    I am sure others will come along and answer the question but you might consider a PM to colt22dotcom or his website colt22.com. He is the expert here that I turn to for Woodsman questions. flanman

Member #
    Liked
    7 times
    I am not an expert but I do own three Colt Woodsman pistols. One is a second series with
    a side release for the magazine. The other two are third series with the bottom magazine release on the heel of the grip.

What I have been told is that the third series, with the magazine release on the bottom, is prone to breakage, either the spring or latch itself.

I do not know if this is true because I have never had one break on mine.

Other than that you can count on a lifetime plus of shooting with your woodsman.

al
    alster

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com
    Advertisements

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    1364 times

Colt Woodsman Spares

Just a thought - but an extra magazine is always a good idea.

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    2022 times
    The one part I get the most requests for is the slide stop spring. It is prone to breakage, and also prone to dropping out and disappearing into the carpet when the gun is disassembled. Fortunately they are cheap and readily available.