• 1 Post By saintclair
  • 1 Post By OctopusHighball
  • 1 Post By Pathfinder106

Thread: Colt 1911 Combat Government Model 08111

Member #
    Liked
    3 times

Colt 1911 Combat Government Model 08111

Hello All , Im a new guy just signed up today . Ive been collecting for about 10 yrs , rifles , S&Ws , Colts etc . I just picked up a NIB with all the docs styrofoam insert wood grained cardboard box . I really didnt know what I had .I googled it and was surprised it was a factory upgrade made in 1983 serial # 70B488xx . It has the small rollmark , Combat Government on both sides of the slide . Does not have the MarkIV roll mark which I dont like anyway but on the barrel at the ejection port it does say MarkIV series 70 . I have not even racked the slide , not a single mark on it . rear white lined sight wrap around pachmayer grips . Just looking to see if any of you guys own one and your thoughts on it . Thank You , SemperFi , JJ

Member #
    Liked
    3282 times
    Welcome to the Forum from Canada!
    I have one, it's a great shooter, very accurate. There was a recent thread on them located here:https://www.coltforum.com/forums/col...ovt-model.html
    Pic's of mine in post #4. Also note in my pic's, the Colt Combat Government spec sheet.
    Jackson and reconjj like this.

Member #
    Liked
    4040 times
    What you have is Colt's answer to the specifications of the IPSC crowd and the forerunner of the Combat Elite Series.
    It is essentially a MKIV/Series 70, but a different version, in this case the Combat Government Model.
    I've never owned one, but a friend had bought a used one at a LGS years ago. I modified my Series 70's patterned after the CGM.
    Ken
    "I like Colts and will die that way"

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com
    Advertisements

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    4396 times
    Welcome tot he Colt Forum from Arizona.
    Living a dream.