UPS just left me a nice 1873 Springfield Trapdoor.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree59Likes

Thread: UPS just left me a nice 1873 Springfield Trapdoor.

Member #
    Liked
    1275 times

UPS just left me a nice 1873 Springfield Trapdoor.

I posted a few weeks ago that I had decided to get a nice representative two band Springfield 45-70 rifle. Unfortunately, I had not made this decision when I went to the big Tulsa show back in April, so that was one opportunity lost unless I wanted to hold out for the fall show. I hardly ever see any trapdoors at the local shows other than a few beat up rusty derelicts ready for the scrap heap.

To my dismay, most of the stuff I was finding on-line was not too much better. Mismatched parts, sanded stocks, and either rusted or reblued metal parts---all at prices no where commensurate with condition. I'm no expert on this model, but I did attempt to educate myself a bit by picking up a collectors guide book on Amazon.

Besides overall condition of the metal, it appeared to me that one of the most important aspects was to find one with a well defined inspector's date cartouche on the stocks. Anything else would indicate that the stock was sanded or might even be a replacement and at the worst that the the gun is nothing more than a mix master of used parts assembled by some surplus seller back in the early 1900's. Some of these even have reproduction lock plates made over 100 years ago---because that particular part was always in short supply. Most on line sellers seem either ignorant of these facts
    or are not and hoping their potential customers are.

I finally happened upon a site totally devoted to the trapdoor--run by a gentleman named Al Frasca who co-wrote what many consider to be the bible of the Trapdoor. He also carries a small selection of Trapdoors for sale with well written descriptions from plus expertly photographed close ups of each example.

The U.S. Springfield Trapdoor Rifle Information Center