Safest way to conceal carry a revolver?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree33Likes

Thread: Safest way to conceal carry a revolver?

Member #
    Liked
    34 times

Safest way to conceal carry a revolver?

Hey guys.
    I am still very new to conceal carrying.
    I currently carry a 1908 .380 in condition 3 (no round in the chamber). I know that's not ideal, but that's what I'm doing til I'm completely comfortable.

I'm picking up a 1951 detective special tomorrow. I'd really like to carry it.
    It just makes me a little nervous to have 6 rounds in the cylinder.

Is the 1951 detective special drop safe?
    Is there anything else I should be worried about with carrying it loaded? And if so, is there a "safe" way to carry it? Could you carry with the chamber on the hammer empty?

I'm comfortable handling the guns and I am very safe and aware when I am conceal carrying, but I am still very new to this and I just get a little nervous. So I want to make sure I am taking any precautions I can until I am 100% comfortable.

Thanks!
    Last edited by comma; 01-10-2015 at 07:43 PM.
    bmcgilvray likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    1087 times
    Yes, the DS is drop safe. Get a good holster for it, load it up with 6 rounds and you're good to go. Never put it in your pocket without a pocket holster.
    U.S. Navy 1967-1988
    Retired E-8; AXCS
    "America is at that awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards."
    Claire Wolfe

Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Liked
    4091 times
    The Detective Special has the "Positive Lock" introduced on Colt double-action revolvers in the early 20th century. It is completely safe to carry with a live round under the hammer.