almost blew up my Python tonight.
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: almost blew up my Python tonight.

Member #
    Liked
    281 times

almost blew up my Python tonight.

I just learned to roll about a few dozen .38 SPL loads with my Lee progressive reloader. 3.1 gr bullseye pushing speer LSWC bullet. Had 6 in gun, 4 shots did fine, 5th shot just went *click* I thought it was a misfire and tried to pull trigger again. Cylinder wouldn't budge. Could not break cylinder open. Turns out bullet had been pushed halfway into the force cone and halfway out of the cylinder keeping it from rotating to the 6th shot (thanks be to God!). I took gun apart, stick cleaning rod down bore and tapped bullet back into cylinder/cartridge and removed cartridges. Whew. How do you efficiently avoid this danger on a progressive loader (I am new to them). On single stage you check cartridges before seating/crimping. Hard to do that on progressive.Had that bullet moved a half inch more into force cone that 6th shot would have blown my Python. That scares me about trusting progressives
    ei8ht likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    288 times
    Doug,
    Well we know that shot #5 had no powder. The big question is ,--did shot #6 have a double charge of powder??????????????????
    Jim C

Member #
    Liked
    281 times
    WHAA...Now I AM scared of that thing.

4. Remove Advertisements
    ColtForum.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    281 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jimc351 View Post
    Doug,
    Well we know that shot #5 had no powder. The big question is ,--did shot #6 have a double charge of powder??????????????????
    Jim C
    Answer to said question is: NO.