Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Help needed with ID of early LONG FLUTE nickel SAA

Member #
    Liked
    11 times

Help needed with ID of early LONG FLUTE nickel SAA

Hello All,
    Looking for your advice here. I have a local buy opportunity on a 1915 SAA but without a Colt letter. It has a serial number 32999x and is a nickel gun with a 5 1/2 barrel, and black rubber grips. My concern is that I have always heard the long flute guns started at serial 330,000.

Do you think this gun is legit? Is is worth the $2500 price tag? I am by no means an expert so your opinions are very welcome.

Here is a pic for reference:
    saintclair and mrcvs like this.

Member #
    Liked
    969 times
    Based on the picture...The bad is it has been refinished. Whether it left the factory as nickel only a letter will tell. The good, most of it looks pretty good. The patent is still fairly crisp (as well as the TG proofs), the screw holes dont appear dished, the grips are nice. I cant see any barrel markings so I dont know if that's just the picture (nickel guns are a bitch to photograph) or if the barrel was over buffed. Overall I dont think the price is too terrible.
    YMMV
    mrcvs and LEO918 like this.
    Curtis M Brier, CPA, CIA, CFE

Amat Victoria Curam

Never buy a gun you'll have to make excuses for later

Member #
    My boots are stained with Confederate soil
    Liked
    2059 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 29aholic View Post
    Based on the picture...The bad is it has been refinished. Whether it left the factory as nickel only a letter will tell. The good, most of it looks pretty good. The patent is still fairly crisp (as well as the TG proofs), the screw holes dont appear dished, the grips are nice. I cant see any barrel markings so I dont know if that's just the picture (nickel guns are a bitch to photograph) or if the barrel was over buffed. Overall I dont think the price is too terrible.
    YMMV
    What 29aholic said...