SAA shipment date vs year of manufacture
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: SAA shipment date vs year of manufacture

Member #
    Liked
    15 times

SAA shipment date vs year of manufacture

Hello, everyone, I appreciate the help with this. I recently purchased a Colt SAA (serial #357629) from a distant relative who is serving as the executor of her uncle's estate. The uncle had some cool Colts, and I grabbed this one. According to the Colt website, if I'm reading things correctly, the pistol was manufactured in 1940. I ordered a certificate from the Colt historian, however, that states that the SAA was shipped in 1954. That seems like quite the gap. Can someone educate me? I'm new to Colt SAA collecting. What am I missing? Again, thanks for the help.
    victorio1sw and Rick like this.

Member #
    Liked
    2390 times
    I am surprised that you would be getting any letter at all, with shipping date. Colt SAA's in this late serial range would have been in that last (Stolen) Shipping Ledger that covers 1934 and later.

What you may get is a letter composed from assembly records, giving Caliber, Bbl length, and Finish. However, if the gun had to be modified in order to make a final sale, then the description in such a letter will be outdated (and wrong).

We do know that Colt SAA's from the 357xxx serial range were often sold or shipped very late, when compared with the estimated manufacturing year. I seem to recall that the last one in stock sold in the 1970's.
    Last edited by victorio1sw; 02-07-2020 at 04:35 PM.
    yelljack likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    15 times
    Quote Originally Posted by victorio1sw View Post
    I am surprised that you would be getting any letter at all, with shipping date. Colt SAA's in this late serial range would have been in that last (Stolen) Shipping Ledger that covers 1934 and later.