Colt Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello to all,
I'm new to this forum and have just acquired an 1851 navy London!

I've not come across any information or pictures of nipple cut outs like on this one before (the thinned shoulders), anyone know if this could be a modification made by a previous shooter, a possible in factory test modification? (I can imagine it would help with spent caps falling out easier) there is no scene on the cylinder, the nipples are all stamped colt's patent.

The serial numbers match on all parts of the gun, but there are no british proof markings to be found on any part of the gun!

Theory 1: Either the scene has been removed by an unfortunate restoration/modification or
Theory 2: The cylinder never had a scene stamped on it as it was a cylinder used for testing out the modified cut-outs.

All input appreciated :) thank you!

IMG_1733.jpg cylinder.jpg

·
Registered
483 Posts
Hello to all,
I'm new to this forum and have just acquired an 1851 navy London!

I've not come across any information or pictures of nipple cut outs like on this one before (the thinned shoulders), anyone know if this could be a modification made by a previous shooter, a possible in factory test modification? (I can imagine it would help with spent caps falling out easier) there is no scene on the cylinder, the nipples are all stamped colt's patent.

The serial numbers match on all parts of the gun, but there are no british proof markings to be found on any part of the gun!

Theory 1: Either the scene has been removed by an unfortunate restoration/modification or
Theory 2: The cylinder never had a scene stamped on it as it was a cylinder used for testing out the modified cut-outs.

All input appreciated :) thank you!

View attachment 204761 View attachment 204769