Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
photo.jpg This came from a friend, It has a five digit serial number and according to Colt was built in 1879. Nickle with "C" engraving in 45 Colt. Since I usually shoot my weapons, don't know if I should shoot it or display it. It is in excellent condition. All I can say is wow.

·
Registered
512 Posts
First thing I would do is call Colt for the info and a letter.$150 over the phone.(more if it's factory engraved)If it's factory engraved it's probably worth $20000 more than a later job.Either way ,any potential buyer will want to know.JMO

·
Registered
480 Posts
Welcome to the forum Vanroy. Agree with pecosriver about the archive letter if a sale is anywhere in the future. If the gun is original, the letter will be well worth the money spent. Notice you haven't asked for any comments concerning originality, but if you so wish, the experts will probably need clear, close up photos. I'm studying to be considered a novice, but I would recommend you have our collectors evaluate the front sight, ejector rod head, base pin retention screw, hammer and stocks. Just a thought.

·
Premium Member
4,662 Posts
Nice looker! Having said that, I did notice a few little things: 1st, the hammer looks to have unfinished sides, which probably means 2nd generation. An 1879 would have a round ejector rod head (you find many that have been replaced with later ones). Is that a caliber marking on the barrel? If so, not original to an 1879. Also looks like a tall front sight. Sorry to pick on it, mabey you already know these things. Someone with more knowledge than me will be along. But, I DO like it!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6