Colt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,
I've run across a Colt that my limited knowledge of Colts is confusing me on. I've got a feeling that you guys will straighten me out.

The gun in question is, I think, a pristine 1917 with a barrel swap. The shop owner has it tagged as a New Service 45acp. The frame of the gun and the grips would grade at close to 95%. The grips are smooth. The frame is in what I think is parkerizing, in excellent condition. Its a brushed finish that is almost like new. There is a lanyard loop. The problem lies in the barrel. The barrel is a polished blue and is marked on the left side "New Service 45". Also, there are buff or small grind marks on the bottom of the grip frame where it appears to me the military markings have been ground or buffed out. I'm new with Colt but have had a lot of older guns. I'm 99% sure this is not a re-finished gun nor do I think that its a "parts gun" except for a possible barrel swap. My thinking on the gun was that it was a 1917 that someone panicked over owning with all the gov. markings. They ground off the ones on the butt but had to swap out the barrel to remove the US Gov. Prop stamping on the bottom. After, I read some of Additected's posts on New Service guns I concluded that perhaps there may be Colts that I'm not familiar with and that I should ask about. The serial number is 2414XX on this gun. The number is in the crane recess and on the crane. Could this be anything other than a swapped out 1917?

I like 45acps as shooters. Keeping in mind the excellent condition of this gun is it worth the asking price of $349 as a shooter even with the wrong barrel?
Tom

·
Registered
909 Posts