Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all! I was advised to come here for some information on a SAA I just picked up from a coworker. I'm curious to know what value the membership here would place on it, as well as getting some insight on a few specific things I've noticed about the gun.

It's a SAA, s/n 353503, with 7 1/2" barrel. The original grips are missing, replaced by ivory ones crafted by my coworker's father. The numbers match, with the exception of the loading gate, stamped "490" over "489". I assume this is a mistake in the manufacturing process. "490" is also stamped inside the frame under the grips near the serial number. I also noticed "03" marked on the end of the cylinder, very small, and I've not been able to find any explanation online for that. My coworker told me that his father had the cylinder re-blued at some point, and possibly the whole gun. I'm not an expert on finishing, but all the edges are sharp and square, screw holes are very sharp, and the markings are sharp. The one thing I don't detect is the "crater" effect around the markings. I can't feel any on the case-hardened area, either, though. I was told that it hadn't been shot in about 50 years, so whatever work was done was done a long time ago. I trust the info I got, other than some doubt as to how much refinishing may have been done.

So there it is...thanks in advance for any info you guys may have!

·
Premium Member
6,467 Posts
The gun looks great. The Ivory Stocks are worth $500+. Looks like the barrel legend kinda fades out as you go towards the front of the barrel. Could indicate a re-finish. Could be the photo. Even with a refinsh I bet that is still $2500 worth of SAA. Be interesting to read what some of the hardcore Pre-War SAA guys have to say.

·
Premium Member
4,463 Posts
From the distance I can't say for certain and photos are generally hard to say without a doubt but it sure does look good to me.