Colt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
778 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just received a 98% 38 Cal.Shooting Master. The dealer who sold it called it mint. Serial #334,7XX. It is in just about as fine condition as one could hope for considering its age. I never thought I would find one like this.

The front sight with the red isert is odd. Do any of you know where it came from? Pics follow:

·
Administrator
7,046 Posts
That's a beauty Robba ! What a great addition /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
Sorry , I can't shed any light on the front sight blade .

My .38 is a few years newer , 1936 .

[image]
[/image]

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
I'm no expert, but that front sight blade looks like it was cut and the plastic insert added or a whole new blade was constructed. No target sight would be rounded on the face. It would have a sharp edge for the best possible sight picture without anything to cause glare.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Robba,
That one is really nice! It was my recent acquisition of a Shooting Master that perked my interest in Colts. I have a nice collection of the "other brand". I just never bothered much with Colts. My SM was made in '36. Its not as pristine as yours. I've been shooting mine quite a bit. It lives up to the old Colt advertisements. It is the finest revolver that I've ever had my hands on. It is superb in both fit and finish, as well as attention to detail and is superbly accurate with 38 wadcutter loads.

Mine has unusual sights on which a poster on this forum, Ira Paine, posted that were made by Walter Roper. In my research I found that quite a few Shooting Masters have King sights. I'm not sure if yours are that but I think someone on here will be able to tell you. Also, the orginal grips from mine are gone replaced by what I think are a set of oversize New Service grips and a Tyler.
Tom

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
That sight is not of that period. The red insert indicates late model style. Probably aftermarket

·
Registered