Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone a few years back I purchased an old Colt that some helpful members on the forum here helped sway me towards picking up. I love the history and have taken good care of it since then. Now I am toying with the idea of selling, and I want to find out as much as I can about it. I am far from an expert on these pistols, so here is what I know so far:
- The frame is from 1943
- It has the SA mark showing a rebuild (I don't believe there was refinishing)
- The slide is numbered 797262, which is from 1942 (someone on the forums said it was shipped to the navy, but I don't know for sure)
- The barrel is marked HS instead of Colt, and I hear Hi Standard barrels were often switched onto weapons during and after the war
- The magazine is unmarked except for Colt 45 Auto on the baseplate
- The holster is a Sears and is undated, which I understand was common

What are your thoughts on this old weapon and what kind of value it might have today? I know something's only worth what someone is willing to pay, but a ballpark is helpful. I'm attempting to attach some pictures to help

Attachments

·
Premium Member
876 Posts
You are correct... the slide is from 1942, and the frame is from 1943. The SA stamp does indicate a rebuild/repair by Springfield Arsenal.

Along with the barrel (a High Standard as you mentioned), the hammer, trigger, mainspring housing, and slide lock are not original to the frame... probably as a result of the rebuild. The primary concern with a rebuild was a working, functional gun... not collectability.

Still, it's a nice example of a WWII rebuild. As far as a selling price, I've seen examples of these go for $1500, but that may be on the high side. Hopefully other members can give a more definitive answer.

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Looks like the frame may actually be from very early 1944.