Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
967 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did Colt nickel plate pythons in 1958? This gun is alledged to be a 1958, 4", nickel, in the orgiinal box. Serial numbers are reported to run from 5550 through 7049. If 1500 were produced, how many were nickel? I have requested additional information, and I am patiently awating a response. Just not sure about the 58 being nickel. The only reference I have located is vague. It states the Python was originally offered in Royal Blue and Bright Nickel. Also, if it was nickel, should there be a sticker on the box indicating nickel? xb

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
I don't know the answer, but I sure want to see pictures of it if you get it!!

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
I'm not an expert on this question but going on memory, I think I remember reading nickel Python's were catalogued in 1961 but were available in 1960. Here is a 4" nickel Python shipped in December of 1960.

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
In 1958 Colt only made the Python in a 6" blue.

Are you sure there is not a "E" in front of the serial number? That would make it a 70's gun and it could then be original.

·
Premium Member
9,512 Posts
Is the box the correct 1950s style of wood-grain, telescoping-lid box with the dark green interior? Does the box state the barrel length is 4-inch? Does the serial number on the bottom of the box match the gun? As stated, no 4-inch Pythons were cataloged until 1960, and no nickel Pythons were cataloged until 1961.