Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a NIB 1965 Colt Python with a 6" barrel in the high polish blue! Can anyone help me with the history or any information on this gun in regards to the high polish blue versus the regular blued guns! I am new to colt revolvers,so any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you for your time, AL

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,893 Posts
From the beginning, the Python was "Special".
It was the first production gun to have the finish still known in the factory as "the Python finish".

Colt decided from the "get-go" that the Python would be the finest quality production firearm in the world, and the finish was simply one component of that.
Colt intended the Python to have the absolute best blue job ever done on a production firearm.

Over the years, Colt has advertised it as Royal Blue, Bright Blue, and other names.

In the "old days", Colt was running virtually an in-house farm team for polishers.
New polishers went to "school" where they were taught the skill by master's of the art.
After school, the new polisher went to the "low end" of the production line, the Colt Official Police, and actually polished guns under the close, over the shoulder observation of a master polisher.

As the polisher's skills developed over the years, he would be moved up to better quality guns that required more skill.

Only the very best, most experienced people were allowed to work on the Python.
On the Python line, there could BE no "slips, or Oops".

One famous myth says that the nickel Pythons were guns that had a mar in the polishing due to a slip, so the gun was plated to "cover it up".
In fact, this is a myth, since a mar will clearly show through plating.

Colt always made their own special wooden polishing wheels with leather coverings.
On the Python, extra polishing was done on separate wheels with finer media than on standard guns.
The final Python polish media has the consistency of fine flour.