Colt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,015 Posts
Very nice!!
Colt's .22LR Conversion Unit's are quite entertaining plinkers. I have a couple. I've never used your pictured ammunition before but I know from experiance that plated lead bullets work the best in these. I use Remington Golden bullets, 1255FPS and these seem to go a couple of hundred rounds before the floating chamber needs a good cleaning. When I got my first one I tried CCI Standard Velocity which seized the floating chamber solid after about 50 rounds. If you are looking for more magazines, both of mine run just fine using GSG magazines. I'll link the thread where I tested several brands of magazines and also a youtube video where I shoot my Conversion Unit using a GSG magazine to quell the doubters. If you can try a GSG magazine first before you buy one just in case it doesn't run in yours.

IMG_1742.JPG IMG_1747.jpg IMG_2016.jpg IMG_2238.jpg

Colt .22 Conversion Unit, what "other" magazines work.

·
Registered
2,489 Posts
I've have two Colt Conversion Units; one Ceiner .22 Conversion for 1911s; and a Factory Sig Sauer .22 LR conversion unit that fits my German P-220 .45 ACP but not the P-220 .38 Super...

·
Registered
8,943 Posts
This from an old Army shooter...

Remove the floating chamber from your Colt unit, and 'break' the sharp edge a bit - it'll do wonders for continued functioning, and will eliminate most, if not all leading.

Be sure to clean it 'thoroughly' and lube it (I use Pro-Shot's 'Pro-Gold'), and use a hard wax (plated) bullet like Remington's 'Golden Bullet'.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You are correct Judge. I have a supply of Remington and Winchester for all my shooting needs. I have shot some Peters in the past but it was basically the same as its Remington brothers both born in the same plant on Barnum Avenue in Bridgeport.

·
Registered
3,015 Posts