Colt Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Administrator
7,328 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading on another forum and a member posted a photo of a family heirloom SAA from the 1880's along with the "original" box . It was brown leatherette with a gold colored horse on top . I'm not a box expert but I recollect seeing these boxes before and they weren't 120 yrs old .

Aren't original boxes black in color ?

Btw , it was an obvious refinish but I didn't want to rain on his parade .

Thanks !

·
Premium Member
4,488 Posts
You sure don't see many early boxes but seems me to that they are maroon purplish in color and some of them have a drawing of a single action on them.....can't remember if it's on the top of the box or the inside of the lid....I've got a picture of 1 or 2 of them on my home computer that I'll check this evening.

·
Premium Member
4,489 Posts
The brown leatherette boxes with gold imprinting were used in the late 1940's and early 1950's for Woodsman pistols and some double action revolvers (Officer's Model, 3-5-7 and maybe very early Pythons).
There is a photo of two pre-1900 Single Action Army boxes on page 408 of "The Official Record of the Colt Single Action Army Revolver 1873-1895" by Don & Carol Wilkerson and Kathy Hoyt ((2008). The photo shows boxes with a red or pink top with the Rampant Colt logo, a drawing of the revolver, the name of the revolver and Colt's company name. After about 1905, SAAs were shipped in the same black or dark maroon type box that was used for many other Colt pistols and revolvers.

- - -Buckspen

·
Registered
3,852 Posts
I was reading on another forum and a member posted a photo of a family heirloom SAA from the 1880's along with the "original" box . It was brown leatherette with a gold colored horse on top . I'm not a box expert but I recollect seeing these boxes before and they weren't 120 yrs old .

Aren't original boxes black in color ?