Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have in the attic a .38 Banker's Special with pearl grips. The bluing is in pretty good shape and the gun hasn't been fired anytime in the last 20 years. It doesn't use .38 spl. ammo. I have only recently started shooting again and know little about handguns. Anyone with any knowledge about this gun? How old? Is it worth anything?

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
You have a special gun there. I'm no expert, but what little I know is that it is probably chambered in .38 New Police or .38 S&W caliber. From 1926 to 1933 it was made in square butt and from 1934 to 1940 it was made in round butt, which is yours?
They are fairly rare and with genuine pearl stocks could command a premium price. Maybe others here can give you a better idea of worth.

------------------
Dick

The watchwords for all mankind are.....Liberty and Freedom.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate the help. It has a flat bottom on the butt of the gun and the pearl grips have Colt medallions in them.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Sounds like my kinda handgun. Factory pearls on a 38 s&w Banker frame... This is an early gun. If you want to get rid of it I'm interested, however it is a nice keeper shooter......Check the serial number inside the cylinder crane, that will date the gun. Henri

·
Premium Member
9,477 Posts
If the stocks letter to the gun, they add a LOT to the value. A .22 BS is worth a lot more than a .38 BS, but both are quite valuable. I have a .22 BS with factory mother-of-pearl stocks that letter to the gun, but they do not have medallions. Some do, some do not.

You ought to letter the gun to verify the stocks and see if there is anything else unusual about it.

·
Registered
383 Posts