Colt Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Out of my guns, +p+ winchester is less then a 38/44 round but more than a +p round. This assumes 158 grn bullets.

The big question I have is unless you are shooting them out of a 38/44 or a 357 magnum, why do you want to shoot them in an old OP?

By the way, the 38/44 has an is a hobby of mine. I have been collecting Heavy Duties and Outdoorsman revolvers for a few years and have picked up some 38/44 ammo and chrono-ed the stuff. Very interesting cartridge.

·
Registered
1,584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well hello. Seems I bump into you Mr. Eick wherever I go. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

The answer to your question is that while I don't intend to go down to the range with five boxes of either .38/44 or +P+ every week I would be interested in firing it out of my OP once in a blue moon as I'd like to see just how such a round feels in the medium sized revolver. Other than that I wouldn't make a practice out of it as I don't want to wear out a nice old gun like the OP.
But really, I'd like to be able utilize the maximum potential of my OP as a defense weapon if need be (like carrying the hottest round safely possible for that gun or just carrying a backup speedloader full for extra power).

While I could go ahead and get a M-19 or carry my Python 1) the .357 medium frame guns are bulky and heavier than the .38 medium frame guns, 2) the Python is too nice to carry on a regular basis 3) I'd like to make the most out of what I already have rather than buying a new gun.

·
Registered
267 Posts