Colt Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm totally new to Colt SAA stuff and have a few questions.

I've read the Standard Catalog of Colt (hereafter SCofC) and can't figure out exactly how a 3rd gen differs from the 2nd gen except for date of manufacture. There must be difference or they would not be called 3rd gen. Are 3rd gen SAA's something to treasure like older ones or are they just the evolution of a firearm into a cheaper modern version? It sure doesn't look like a cheaply made gun.

Secondly, I just bought a gun that the original owner said it came out of the 'Colt custom shop' around 1980. It is beautiful blue/case colored and has gorgeous Colt installed/fit, numbered to the gun, stag grips, 4 5/8 barrel in .45lc. There's nothing special engraved on the gun to make it look like anything but a regular Colt except for the beautiful grips.I can't find anything out about this gun.

Whats even more confusing is that the SCofC says that around 1978 the serial numbering changed to SAxxxxxx, etc. My gun has serial number S0xxxxxA. It doesn't seem to fit into the described serial number standard, early or late, mentioned in the SCoC.

Is mine a 3rd gen or is it something more?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

I have no pics yet but will get some.

·
Registered
8,057 Posts
You have a 3rd Gen. Call Colt Customer service and they can give you month and year it left the factory.

·
Registered
600 Posts
Your serial # range started in 1993 with the S----A series, 3rd generations.
A quick visual of the trigger guard on a 2nd gen, will have a beveled edge where it meets the frame. Should have a thicker trigger & a different hammer. The grips are thicker. Not to mention internals.
These differences are compared with the eagle grip guns of 2nd & 3rds.

·
Registered
280 Posts