Colt Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Colt 41 Single Action Army with a 5 and 1/2" barrel. I have had it for years and purchased it from the gentleman that purchased it in 1909. The serial number is 177389. I sent all the information that I had to Colt and received a letter back from them saying the gun was made in 1898. I am now thinking of possibly selling the gun and would greatly appreciate any help in knowing what it is worth. I have attached photos. It appears to be in very good condition, it is very tight, everything works, looks like it wasn't used much at all.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think it would sell in the $1800.00 to $2000.00 range. I'm sure someone with more
experience with SAA's will be along soon. It's a very nice revolver. Who did it ship to in 1898.

·
Premium Member
4,463 Posts
Since it's under 182,xxx it's considered an antique (probably would have been anyway since it's 41 colt and it's an obsolete caliber) it will be appealing to a wider base since you don't have to ship it through a FFL or C&R. Hard to tell exactly how much bright blue and colorful case colors from the pictures but I'm going to say probably in excess of $2200 to a collector for his personal collection.

·
Premium Member
4,463 Posts
That's a dealer I haven't heard of and Texas isn't a bad place for a colt to be shipped to at all.

·
Premium Member
4,614 Posts
I hope yopu won't mind the correction but it's "Swaim's" not "Swain". That hardware store is still in business as well.

Bud

·
Registered
2,147 Posts
As others have mentioned, in order to provide a realistic response with regard to value; high resolution, in focus pictures are necessary that show the true colors and contours of the Single Action. Also, pictures that clearly show all markings are extremely important. It appears to me that your pictures were washed out using a flash.