Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 70 series Combat Commander .45 that is in the Satin Nickel finish. What kind of magazine did it come with from the factory? Was it also satin nickeled and were there markings on the bottom to differentiate it from a standard finished mag?
The grips on my gun do not have any kind of medallion on them. Could they possibly have been shipped this way or are they definately add-ons?
Thanx,
bdGreen

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,895 Posts
The original magazine would have also been satin coated, and would have the full Colt Commercial markings, including the Colt pony.

[This message has been edited by dfariswheel (edited 01-12-2005).]

·
Registered
936 Posts
What type of grips does your gun have? IF I recollect correctly, most of the 1911 Colts in the '70s had uncheckered grips with a rough finish & Colt medallions. Imagine rainwater running down a window pane & that was the texture.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The grips on there now are vintage looking fully checkered. No medallion. They have some honest age to them.
Also wondering about the beavertail grip safety. Really looks 'right' to the gun with the finish and all being exactly the same as the frame. Did Colt ship the Combat Commander with a beavertail grip safety?
The right side of my slide says:
Colt's Combat Commander Model
I have seen other series 70's without the word "Model" at the end.

·
Premium Member
9,469 Posts
I would be curious to know why you call your pistol a "Series 70." As far as I know, there were no Series 70 Commanders or Combat Commanders. The distinguishing feature of the Series 70 pistols is the collett bushing, and the Commander and Combat Commander do not have the collett bushing, so cannot be Series 70 pistols. (The Blue Book is in error again on this issue.) If you look at your pistol, I do not think you will find any reference to "Series 70" anywhere on it.