Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picked this up today in a multi-gun trade deal. I asked for an extra $200 cash, he threw this in instead, no box nor papers.

I have zero knowledge of S&W revolvers or their markings. From the brief research I have done, I know it's a Model 60 with a 3" barrel, serial number of "BAD0xxx" . A couple of questions... Is this a "dash" model, or would that be stamped inside the crane? What does the XX566 mean on the crane? What would approximate value be? Desirability?

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
7,299 Posts
I think it is rare. I used to carry the 2" version for many years but it was stolen with my truck. I replaced it with a model 36 3" blue version just like yours. In my opinion it is about ideal to pack. I have a snubbed hammer on mine and also had the hammer snubbed on my 2" model 60. It`s not quite a pocket gun but is a winner to pack in a OC pancake holster with a untucked shirt.

·
Registered
9,624 Posts
The S&W Model 60 has been in production since 1965, and holds the distinction of being the first regular production all stainless steel revolver ever made.

The Model 60 featured a 1.875" barrel and was chambered solely for the .38 Special. In 1996, the stronger J-Magnum frame was introduced and the cylinder was lengthened to support the .357 Magnum round. The new model replaced the .38 Special-only version and is available in either a 2.125" or a 3" barrel, with a 5" barrel introduced in 2005.

The first "dash" didn't appear until 1972...when the 3" square butt was introduced in limited production.

The second "dash" didn't appear until 1982...when a DOA model was introduced.

After that...dash models appeared almost yearly...mostly covering small changes or adding different models like the Ladysmith ( -6 ).