Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been accumulating guns for over 50 years. I have never had a nickel plated gun. I have aquired a couple of SSAs in the last few years. I saw a nickel one recently and was tempted. I shoot all of my guns and clean them with Hoppe's #9 and then oil them with Breakfree. I have heard that Hoppe's is very bad for nickel. So I worry that I might inadvertently get some on a nickel gun, even if there is a little hoppe's on my cleaning mat or rag. I also wonder how durable the nickel Colt uses is, I have seen some old nickel guns that look very good and some that look awful. Of course, I can say the same about blued guns. I am just wondering if this is something that will cause me a lot of extra work and if it is worth the effort. Any thoughts or experiences would be welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
9,925 Posts
Any cleaning solution...or any solution for that matter...that contains ammonia can be bad. If it gets under the plating it can cause the plating to separate from the copper underneath it. If there are no breaks or openings in the nickel it won't occur but it's recommended by most to avoid it. Hope's does make a non-ammonia cleaner as do others.

·
Premium Member
3,336 Posts
I’ve see a hundred SAAs this year.
Never once felt any need to use anything harsh.
its the orange can KROIL that I get at NAPA for cleaning any SAA as good as needed.

For a shiny bore I use FLITZ metal polish.

Nickel is awesome.
It preserves the metal under it very well.
And if it gets hazy from use you can polish it while watching amovie.

·
Registered
7,449 Posts
Nickel? Easy to clean with most anything but ammonia. Breakfree would work just fine as will hot water and soap. One reason they were do popular in the BP era. Gives a good bit of protection to the steel underneath the nickel. Some glare on the sights in bright sun. Also makes the sights easier to see in bad lighting.