Colt Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was at the Wheeling WV store in Jan of this year. I was passing thru and thought I would stop. Place was a mad house. You had to take a number to get waited on at the gun counters. I overheard a sales man telling a customer about AR's. Customer was looking at a bushmaster and then asked about a Colt AR. Salesman replied they didn't have any but no big deal because they are all the same. Customer said OK i will take this one. Price $1700. I didn't say a word but walked away quick. I was there this past friday. No crowds, so I asked a sale man about Colt 1911's, His reply.....They are hard to come buy, but we have others and they are all the same. I walked away again, although I did laugh pretty hard.....Don't get me wrong I like there stores and go to a lot of them, fun to look around. Only buy a little though.

·
Registered
162 Posts
As a firearms instructor, I tell my students that when talking to salesmen in gun stores, they need to realize that they are there to sell guns. And the "best" gun is the one they "have", being a Colt or a Taurus. Unfortunately, most people believe what a salesman or the media tells them cause "they are all the same".

·
Registered
512 Posts
A good salesman will not only push you toward what they have in stock but also toward the product that has the best profit margin. That is why we do our homework and gather information here. It amazes me that someone will make a large investment in anything without doing some research.

·
Registered
5,361 Posts
This reminds me of the time i went into the LGS looking for a rifle in .270. The owner tells me 'No you don't want a .270, you want a 30-06" I say no I want a .270. He points to his rack and says no you should get a 30-06 . I have plenty of those. I then say No I'd like a .270, can you order me one. His answer " NO" - Needless to say I did get a .270, but not from him !!!

·
Registered
5,982 Posts