Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I stumbled on quite few posts on other forums , tried a search on here and couldn't find anything . But there a good bit of people that say the python, king cobra , mk111 357 trooper . That you shouldn't fire 357 magnum loads . I am new to wheel guns and I certainly don't want you mess up or damage my trooper or king cobra . Please tell me this is here say . I am saving for a python , I am not a collector . I collect guns to shoot if that counts . Thank you for any help uploadfromtaptalk1409512711294.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1409512824424.jpg

·
Registered
322 Posts
These guns are made to shoot .357 loaded to SAMI specifications. The higher pressures and recoil of full power .357 loads will over time cause more wear than say .38 special target loads but you would have to shoot a bunch of them to wear out your gun. .357 loads will also pinpoint any loose screws. That's not to say don't shoot them but you might not want to run a steady diet of .357 magnum through your revolver. Most of us (me especially) don't care for the constant recoil of .357 magnum in a long shooting session. That's why I practice with .38 special loads and then run a couple of cylinders of .357 hunting loads through at the start of hunting season=saves wear and tear on me and the gun.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was so happy with getting a KC , I went to gun range and shot 150 rounds of 357 and 50 rounds of 38 sp . And that was just out of the KC .

·
Registered
31 Posts
A couple nice pistols, keep after that Python you wont regret spending the money. They are one of the best shooting wheel guns you can own. I shoot 357 158 grain loads out of mine.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
That's what I shoot is 158 grain 357 . Really trying to find a shooter grade python . What is the going rate on a shooter python these days ? Prices seem to be all over the place

·
Registered
4,764 Posts