Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

Premium Member
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have this gun on layaway. dealer said Colt told him it was a 1957. I don't think the box went with a 1957 model.. so think he's wrong about the date. gun/label/box look in order and matching to me, but I am a novice with Pythons, their grips, etc.
anyone see anything not right or not adding up?

Registered
First nickel guns didn't come out until Gen II after '60. Has Gen III Grips/Box.

Everything looks Legit and the price tag is pretty fair also. If the gun is in great condition that would be a bonus.

Banned
Here's what the dealer did...he said "I have a Python with S/N 4251" (omitting the AL Prefix) and Colt said "That's a 1957" and they concluded the phone call. Now then S/N AL4251 makes it a 1980. The stocks are "Gen III" due to the straight transition from smooth to checkered wood. Gen II would have the smiley transition. I'm not a box/label guy so can't help you there. Price? I'm not as up to date on that anymore so no help there. That's all Folks (in my Porky Pig imitation voice).

Premium Member
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the quick response guys.
I think I was the blind squirrel that found a nut .. again.. on this one. They did a layaway for me. I just bought the Wiley Clapp SAA and my bank account has some hurdles now. or more like pot holes... empty ones.
out the door of $2850 . slightest of turn lines.. no scratches. Its really clean. I think I can be happy about that, now. I wasn't sure.