Colt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
The Searcher
11,101 Posts
From the photos, they appear so to me, but it is always possible that medallions were changed. Even then, they are still "correct". :cool:

Oh wait, you asked for a Python expert. :eek:

·
Registered
288 Posts
They look different from the stocks on my 1978 Python.

I'm no Python expert, maybe Colt made many variations of the wooden stocks.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Those stocks look to be Colt Service Stocks from the pics but, Not 100% positive. Especially hard to tell from just pics but look good. I am certainly NOT an expert !!

Wild Will: Your Python is a 4" model and the stocks on it look correct. The stocks in the OP's question are for a 2 1/2" Python.

·
Premium Member
9,514 Posts
Colt did make "many variations of wooden stocks." Different models and different vintages have different styles of stocks. The stocks pictured would have been used on a Python with the 2.5-inch barrel. The 4-inch, 6-inch and 8-inch Pythons used wood target stocks, of which there are three styles used at different times of production. The 4-inch Python pictured has the third style of wood Python stocks.

·
Premium Member
3,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thank you all, As you know I am on a quest to find original colt "Service" grips for my 2.5" Python. Most everthing on gunbroker are aftermarket for very high $$.

Mafd2, what do the outside of the reproduction Python service stocks you have look like?

TIA

·
Premium Member
3,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thank you Mafd2 for the picture. They look like my current aftermarket grips. If you look at gunbroker, 90% of the stocks they are selling look like these. :)

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
Thank you all, As you know I am on a quest to find original colt "Service" grips for my 2.5" Python. Most everthing on gunbroker are aftermarket for very high $$.

Mafd2, what do the outside of the reproduction Python service stocks you have look like?

TIA