Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to handguns and still have lots to learn so I apologize for this poorly worded (and perhaps ignorant) question. I own a 4" python and shoot both .357 and 38 loads. A friend of mine said there is a lot of unburned powder left over from a .357 load because the barrel is too short and doesn't allow enough time. He said, consequently, you really aren't getting much more "power" (for lack of a better word) from the .357 loads than from the 38's. Can anyone shed a little light on this? And perhaps compare it to a 6" barrel?

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
A longer barrel will give you more burn time and thus higher velocity, but a .357mag from a 4 inch barrel will have a dramatic increase of velocity over a .38sp even if it was fired from a 6 inch barrel.
The amount of unburned powder will depend on the buring rate of the powder. Slow buring powders will leave some of it unburnt, but faster burning powders will have been consumed in the barrel. The best way to notice this is to look for the flame when you fire a round. That flame is burning powder and a long flame means more powder buring.
To sum it all up, don't put a lot of faith in what your friend told you. While a .357mag is more efficient in a 6 inch barrel, it still has plenty of power from a 4 incher.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,895 Posts
I never was "into" ballistics, but if I'm not mistaken, a .357 Magnum from a 2 1/2" barrel generates more power than a .38 Special out of a 6" barrel.

·
Registered
267 Posts