Colt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
I've been storing all my pistols the same way for over 25 years. I keep them in a silicone sock and a padded pistol rug. My safe queens come out once a year for a wipe down and a fresh light oiling. No rust on any of my older ones so far. My shooters get oiled more often. I wouldn't see why a SAA would store any different then any other kind of Colt. My safe does have an operating Golden Rod.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I’ll echo the previous posters. Wiped down lightly with ballistol, dehumidifier rod in the safe, desiccant unit, wrapped up in a gun sock.

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
I suppose you guys are right but I keep mine in leather holsters. I have seen many WWI and WWII guns stored for years in their holsters with no problems.

·
Premium Member
280 Posts
I keep mine in leather holsters.
I don't think it's a good idea to store a gun for long periods in a leather holster. Leather attracts and holds moisture and in conjunction with the chemicals it was tanned with can rust the metal. If you have a WWII flap holster, look at the brass rivets and you'll likely see they are green with corrosion caused by prolonged contact with the chemicals in the leather.

Moving on, here is an excellent article written by the NRA Museum giving best practices for storing collectible firearms.

Rusty Edwards

·
Registered
1,062 Posts