Colt Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

Seeking your views on maker and age, please.

The lack of ribbon or square mounting holes suggests they may not be Ropers.

They would fit the wider trigger-guard New Service introduced in 1909 but they are a perfect fit on my 1902 New Service Target. They did not come to me on that gun.

Little imperfections I can see under a strong light suggest to me they are hand checkered and not machined but I'm no expert.

Thanks

Steve

·
Premium Member
3,248 Posts
Hi ..so you are the guy who out bid me!!! I really wanted those. Personally I feel they may have been the work of Walter Roper but I cant confirm it. I wanted these to study and compaire to my other ropers.

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Hi ..so you are the guy who out bid me!!! I really wanted those. Personally I feel they may have been the work of Walter Roper but I cant confirm it. I wanted these to study and compaire to my other ropers.
Hi Skilled.

Sorry about that but I just had to have them!

At the time I had a pretty severe pang of buyer's remorse at how much I paid. I don't wish to "rub salt in the wound" but my doubts evaporated when I got them as they are real quality and a perfect fit. What I ignorantly assumed was a chip in the top of the inside of one of the grips turned out to be a carefully dished relief for the right hand side of the hammer pin.

·
Premium Member
3,248 Posts