Colt Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

Howdy,
First post, I hope the way I did the pic is acceptable. If not, please advise and I won't do it again. Had my first Python in 1975 when I was 21. Had to let it go during hard times. It came to me as a 2.5 inch Royal Blue but I shot it loose very quickly AND found a brand new 6 inch barrel for $50 back then, so I shipped it all to Colt to install, tighten action and reblue. It came back nickel-plated! Colt tried very hard to convince me to just accept a brand new blued model but I declined and sent it back. Needless to say, after going through the buffing and prep process at 3 times, the finish was something to see! Anyway, I "sort of" have my hands on a stand-in for it (actually numbered within 300 guns of my original number although the original was sent to SC and the current one to PA. Strange but I like it.) It has what are most likely factory grips although I'm no expert. Far from perfect if they are. Would like to replace them for the guy or myself, whichever of us ends up with it. It was made, according to the online lookup, in 1972 just like my original. The grips for that original were long gone before I sold it back in the late 80s. I can't recall if these were what it had or not. Actually, though, if these are legit I will take them regardless if the generation does not match the gun. I did notice the screw "receptacle" is not blued, appears maybe even stainless. Is that a 19big issue? I have lurked here for a long time and I know there is an incredible amount of information here. Any help would truly be appreciated!