Colt Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Chrome 2\" Official Police

I have a chance at an excellent-condition two-inch Official Police in .38 for a decent price, but's in finished in chrome.
Where did that finish come from? I can't recall Colt ever using it, but I'm no expert.
If it is a refinish, can I get it stripped and refinished? It's a pretty nice gun and it'd be fun to run in an IDPA match, at least for someone with a sense of humor.
But I don't think I'm good with that chrome thing.
Thanks
Bill

·
The Searcher
11,097 Posts
Re: Chrome 2\" Official Police

Are you sure it's chrome, or is it bright nickel? Guns are sometimes advertised on the internet as chrome when the seller is not familiar with Colts and the fact that Colt did no "bumper chrome" factory finishes, just a very few hard chromes and those weren't OPs. A bright nickel finish will have a slight yellowish tint. A hard chrome finish can be all the way from very matte and gray white to somewhat shiny like matte or brushed stainless. If it were a hard chrome after market finish, although it wouldn't be collectible as original, that is an excellent finish and you are talking about refinishing anyway. I really suspect nickel unless you absolutely know otherwise. If it is an original 2", that is called "scarce" in the BB and there is also the typical 15% premium for nickel. You may want to snag it and keep it just as is. Not being able to see it, it is JMHO.
/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

·
Registered
582 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Well, I see it for sale at a reputable dealer from whom I've bought a number of guns, and the proprietor says it's chrome.
To tell you the truth, I think it really is. It doesn't look to have any yellow tinge- it does look like a good bumper, bright and glossy and white.
If I get him down to $250, I might go for it.
Thanks for the help.
Bill

·
Registered
1,483 Posts