Colt Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning - I have been trying to identify the best materials to clean and store blued firearms with wood stocks to insure no damage to the blued metal and wood finishes. I tried to review previous postings on the forum and elsewhere - and apologize if I’m being redundant... Specifically I’m interested in the following:
  1. What material(s) do you use to remove the light protective coatings (i.e., cosmoline) the manufacturer applies to NEW blued firearms? [SIDE NOTE: I recently purchased a Colt SAA 4.75 45lc which was received in a plastic bag in a foam lined plastic case. I haven’t cleaned it yet]
  2. What materials do you use to protect / preserve the finish on blued Guns with wood stocks?
  3. How do you then store these guns?

I am relatively new to handguns, and have stored new hand guns in the original foam lined cases provided by the mfg. I’ve read, and it makes sense that the foam inserts retain moisture and are damaging to the finish.

So then I have reviewed the use of silicone impregnated socks; but question the potential damage treated socks may cause over time. I also question if the chemical used and quality is the same for all sock manufacturers. Does mfg location matter (I.e., USA vs China)?

I read some about the protective paper used as a wrap (sold by Brownells). S&W ships hand guns in paper in foam lined plastic cases. Are these papers recommended for long term storage?

Then I explored the use of a descant to minimize moisture. This makes sense. Double wrap with descant?

I’m coming to the conclusion that applying a light coat of gun oil or CLP to the blued metal surfaces and wrapping the firearm in a clean microfiber cloth or placing in a plain white untreated cotton tube sock - and possibly storing the firearm in the original foam lined case with a couple desiccant bags may be appropriate.